Sunday, December 27, 2009

Sun and Warm Weather is where its AT!

Last Sunday this happened in my hometown:


Now I’m enjoying the lovely weather in the southern California desert! It’s close to fifty degrees warmer here than it is at home. I feel for everyone back there but Christmas in Cali is a very nice change. Not to mention we have been having an amazing time with Matt’s family which is a rare change from our usual as my family is the one centrally located in Boston.

We do miss our nephews and Matt’s sister and BIL of course but seeing an entirely different side of the family has been fun. FIL and Step-MIL plus Matt’s Aunt, Uncle and two cousins are here and we rarely see any of them so we’re making the most of the fun together!

My sister is also driving out from Arizona today (hooray!!!) and it will be fantastic to spend some time with her this Christmas as well.

If I’m a little spotty this week I apologize but I fully intend to enjoy this vacation of warmth on the other coast so I can soak up as much as possible before heading back to the likes of the photo above.

But don’t forget to swing back over after the New Year to read about the Green Gift Guide and giveaways!

Friday, December 25, 2009

Eco Fashion Friday Featured Website Rusty Zipper

Short and sweet today folks because its time to go get my Christmas on but I thought everyone could appreciate this website because they have taken Vintage to an excellent extreme! I highly suggest grabbing a warm cup of cocoa, some blue eye liner and a can of the strongest hairspray you can locate while you peruse through the selection of Christmas sweaters from the 1980’s. Oh yes, appliqués, fuzzy collars, plaid and huge gold buttons abound!

They don’t just have Christmas sweaters though, check out Rusty Zipper for all your Vintage shopping needs from men’s hippie clothes to women’s suits to sew it yourself patterns for both sexes and just about everything in between. Their prices are reasonable and the photos are clear enough to get a great idea of the item for sale. Their selection is wide and varied and I plan to spend a bit of time checking out the whole site tomorrow.

But for today…Enjoy your day and for those who are celebrating today along with me, Merry Christmas!

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Fabulous and Frugal

Let’s face it, most of us have cut back on buying outrageously over priced merchandise at the drop of a hat in recent years. Then again, some of us never went that route to begin with but even still, we did like to shop. So what is a girl to do in the midst of a recession? Why we get creative by getting frugal!

I was introduced to the Fabulous & Frugal website via Facebook by a mutual friend and let me tell you, these gals have got the right idea -- their tag line reads “A Girl’s Guide to Living Well and Spending Wisely” Nice!

With tips on everything from how to live frugally in some of the most expensive cities across the United States (think San Diego!) to making home made gifts that will not only get use but are sure to impress, the site provides an insane amount of information for how to cut back without anyone ever being the wiser.

One of their recent articles was with regard for giving cost effective gifts to all of those people you really aren’t sure what to do something for like bosses, co workers, hostesses and neighbors. I fell in love with this article and began considering using their ideas immediately.

The holidays are not just limited to Christmas of course, there are always birthdays, Mom & Dad’s Day, Anniversaries, Valentine’s Day and more throughout the year and I am always on the lookout for ways to keep costs low, but personalization high, for gifts on these occasions as well.

So basically I wanted to give a shout to Stephanie Berenbaum and Brandi Savitt over at Fab & Fru because you have saved me very likely hundreds of dollars over the next year and sparked my own creativity where gift giving is concerned, so thanks ladies!

And speaking of gift giving & being Green…stay tuned just after the New Year for your guide to some of the most amazing gifts to give in 2010, as well as a giveaway of a whole slew of those very same items! A giveaway, talk about being frugal -- free and won items are the best yet!

If you are on Facebook you can find the ladies at Fab & Fru over there as well, just click on their logo to go direct and become a fan today!

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Thanking the Troops

In keeping with yesterday’s theme of awesomeness and Monday’s message to be grateful, this is the perfect day to thank our troops for all the work they do toward ensuring our freedom in this country. I recently came across a website called Let’s Say Thanks and it definitely falls into the awesomeness category!

The program is sponsored by Xerox and it is so easy to send a postcard of support.

First, choose the design you like best. All of the colorful and inspiring postcard designs were created by children across the United States.

Next, personalize it with a message or select from the pre-written messages of thanks right there on the site.

Hit ‘Submit’.

Yes that’s it! It is free and so easy to tell out military service men and women how much we appreciate what they do and at this time of year when they can not be home to enjoy the holidays with their families it is vital to show how much we care.

I encourage everyone to pop on over to the Let’s Say Thanks website and take a minute to send a message today! Mine has been sent, I used the postcard above, as designed by Austin, in Upper Saddle River, NJ. Thanks Austin, and thanks to our troops! Get home safe and soon!

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Awesomeness Defined

Well I finally did it this morning, I Googled ‘awesomeness’ and you want to know what I discovered? There is a whole lot out there on this one little word!

First of all Urban Dictionary defines awesomeness as:
An unmeasurable amount of awesomenimity something can produce.

Wow! That seems above and beyond the best ever right? And that was just one of the definitions. The general rule of thumb seems to be that awesomeness is something way beyond the standard level of awesome.

Next I discovered that there is an entire website dedicated to nothing but awesomeness -- Score! Well I’m not exactly sure where the 585 area code is but if you live there you can have Awesomeness come on over and hook up your computer network. Not only that but they will service or repair it too.

Scrolling down I discovered that you can actually buy awesomeness from Well that didn’t exactly surprise me considering they have everything else for sale over there but then again, isn’t awesomeness a state of mind? I had to explore further. Turns out awesomeness is a tag that users can attach to products on Amazon. Some of the things people considered for the awesomeness category include: a T-shirt with a great white on it, Stanley heavy duty utility knife blades, organic celery seeds, Living Life As A Thank You book, the Planet Dog Cozy Hemp Adjustable Harness and so many other items I could never list them all. If you’re looking for products that are even better than awesome head on over to Amazon and check it out.

Going back to Google I also found out that I can listen to awesomeness. Over at people listen to their favorite grooves and rate them in categories including awesomeness. Curious what some people think of in this way? How about NOFX, Radiohead, Michael Bublé, Beats Antique, The Appleseed Cast, Alice In Wonderland, Skye, DJ Bitman and Paramore not to mention a whole bunch of others. Not sure who any of those acts are? Well lets you find out!

I was also amazed to learn that awesomeness is available to watch, read, join and most importantly read about. For example, Harvard Business Review has an entire post dedicated to what awesomeness means to businesses everywhere entitled The Awesomeness Manifesto.

And all of this was only on the first page of the search! Whew!

I guess what it all comes down to is that awesomeness is everywhere, we just have to be open to recognizing it even if it isn’t defined as such.

What is your personal awesomeness?

Monday, December 21, 2009

Things That Make Me Feel Light

Happy Solstice everyone! Today, in about 20 minutes from when I started writing this post, at 12:47 the light here in Boston will be a mere 9 hours long; six less than what we’ll see in six months on the Summer Solstice. The good news about that is at 12:48 the sun starts making its way back here for longer and warmer days ahead.

In the spirit of the returning light I thought today would be a fantastic day to share my lightness list -- thinks I’m thankful for, happy for or just enjoy in general.

It starts with this photo of a sunset I took down my street in July of last year. It was one of the warmest days and nights of the summer and the sky was a blazing red as the sun dropped out of sight. Even in the city, there is nothing quite like a great sunset!

A cozy hug.
My nephews smiling faces.
Warm meals with warm company.
Music that punctuates an occasion perfectly.
Water -- to drink, swim in, bathe in, etc.
Reading the perfect line then realizing I wrote it.
Reading the perfect line that someone else wrote.
A well placed saxophone or keyboard solo.
Inside jokes with Matt.
Home made hot chocolate on the stovetop.
A really well made pesto.
Cheezy 80’s pop songs.
Road trips and travel to warm places.
Conversations with my sister.
Spending time with family and friends.

What lights you up during these cold winter months?

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Silly Sunday Fun

Good morning friends! Snowing like mad here in Boston, Massachusetts and I am planning to just relax with some tea and my manuscript all day so I can stay warm and cozy indoors. But I couldn’t very well leave everyone hanging with nothing on this fine Sunday morning now could I?

I received the following message from quite a few people and it is definitely something to consider, especially today in the northeast quadrant of the United States. I think after our storm is over there will be a whole lot more joining this cause.

Hundreds are gathered to discuss climate change and fight back against global warming!

Wherever your travels take you today I hope that you have a nice laugh, smile and think Green!

Friday, December 18, 2009

Eco Fashion Friday Feature: Baby Its COLD Outside!

Good morning readers! As I write this in my semi-warm home office (temp set at 64 during the day to conserve) it is only twenty two degrees outside. Of course with a thirteen mile per hour wind speed, what we call the wind chill, brings the temperature into single digits. Holy crow that’s cold!

New England in December tends to usually hover in the 30’s - 40’s during the day but this is extreme temperatures even for late winter like February. Brrr!

Because I write from home and do not want to crank the heat (so I can not only save those precious natural resources but a little bit of cash in my wallet as well), I thought it would be fitting to do a nice feature on some of the Green items that could keep me warm and toasty during extreme situations like this!

Fingerless gloves -- Nothing beats this item for a person who types all the time. They keep the majority of the hand warm while the fingers are still free to bang away on the keyboard. I found this pair from Etsy seller AnnyMay made out of renewable bamboo fiber. Very chic!

Shawl -- Again, something bulky like a blanket with sleeves is not always practical. Sure they are lovely while on the sofa relaxing but during the day when I just have a slight chill and want something warm on my shoulders I’d rather reach for this organic cotton shawl from Enuwbe. The piece can be used all year long -- use it as a belt around a sleeveless sundress in summer & when the temps drop at night it’s a cozy little shawl again.

Hat -- What was that statistic our moms used to tell us? Something about losing 40% of our body heat through our heads? Well I don’t know if the number was that high or not but when I wear a hat, I do feel warmer. This braided wool hat from quarks would certainly help retain the heat through use of natural fabrics, and the vintage flowers just give it a cutsie touch the UPS delivery man can appreciate.

Warm & cozy socks -- You can ask Matt, even when it is in the seventies out my hands, nose and feet are perpetually cold so its no surprise that I am drawn to wool booties. These versatile slipper socks are made by OfftheHooks and are constructed from what once was a sweater. They suggest wearing a pair of socks under them for added warmth. Now we’re talking!

Warm and comfy sweats -- I admit it, most of my indoor wardrobe consists of sweatpants and hoodies. Don’t put me on that TLC show though, it generally isn’t what I wear out. But these eco-fabric pants by branchhandmade in organic cotton/recycled poly/natural rayon are so cute I might be tempted to do so! Or maybe I’ll just wear them in my chair next to the window; since they’re available in black they can soak up all the passive solar rays of the sun.

How are you staying warm this winter?

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Earth FM Broadcasting Live to Our World Leaders

As many of you know our world’s leaders are in Copenhagen right now to discuss climate issues, such as global warming and what role they play in making changes to our world, at the Copenhagen Climate Change Conference.

This morning I received an email from the folks at encouraging us all to add our own voice by recording our message for change at their broadcast station, Earth FM.

Here’s the content of the email:

On December 16 world leaders are meeting in Copenhagen for the COP15 Climate Summit, where critical decisions will be made on taking action against global warming. We need to make sure world leaders Vote Earth.

You can record a message which will be broadcast to world leaders on Earth FM at the COP15 Summit. It’s about making our voice heard as one people, because it’s not about what country you’re from, it’s about what planet you’re from.

A special Earth Hour event, Earth Hour Copenhagen, will take place at 7pm CET on December 16, uniting the people of Copenhagen for an hour of darkness. The culmination of this event will be UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon accepting the 'People's Orb', symbol of the collective will of our planet.

So get on over to Earth FM now to record your message of encouragement to the leaders for change! The messages are going to be played tonight so there is still plenty of time.

A little voice shy? Not a problem! Just head on over to the Earth Hour homepage and click the huge ‘I VOTE EARTH’ button smack dab in the middle of the screen. There is a short form to fill out and your vote will be added to the hundreds of millions of others who have already raised their hand and said they stand behind making our planet a better place to inhabit.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

The Cleanest Car Argument

This morning I was perusing Yahoo and came across a video released by Reuters that explains how Toyota, based out of Japan, is going to start introducing a plug in version of a Hybrid car within the next two years. I remember the old days of plug in vehicles and although they were cool I can’t help but think what the environmental impact of something like this might be, something that is purporting to help might just be hurting as well.

Before I go much further, please watch this video, it is only a minute and a half and will give more information as to the plans Toyota has. Its okay, I’ll wait.

Now that seems great right? Sure it does! Mass volume of Hybrids that run on charged batteries at affordable prices is a great idea! Especially considering they are going to start by introducing these vehicles into the market through local governmental officials being the first to test drive them.

But here in lies the potential snag. The manufacture of more batteries (the reason for the two year wait period) plus the fact that they are running off of electricity means the initial environmental impact is going to be up there. Also, until the system is proven to work and hold up for a bundle of years how do we know what will happen to all of those batteries?

Now don’t get me wrong, I feel that if the user has an alternative energy system at their charging location to provide the required electricity, this is certainly a far superior alternative to an emission releasing, standard fossil fuel vehicle. I am just concerned that the bigger picture is not being addressed as to the emissions released during manufacture and the use of those same fossil fuels to provide the electricity that in turn powers the vehicle.

If one must drive a vehicle, a Hybrid is a smarter alternative, but I wonder if we can all consider different ways to get around such as walking, biking, public transportation or carpooling?

How do you travel? Where could you place greater emphasis on reducing your carbon footprint?

Sunday, December 13, 2009

You Are Awesome, So Smile! And get Validation

My Mom posted this Friday night and I am still smiling after watching it. I highly recommend taking the fifteen minutes to check out this digital short starring TJ Thyne (many of you will know him from his work on Bones). The message couldn’t be clearer so get out and spread the word all over the place, tell everyone you know today how awesome they are and make someone smile!

Friday, December 11, 2009

Eco Fashion Friday Featured Designer The Hempest

This morning I was doing research into what this week’s Eco Fashion Friday feature could be so I put the question out to some friends and one simply said ‘Hemp clothing’. It occurred to me this is one area we haven’t covered very generously over here at GLR as primarily bamboo or organic cotton seems to be the fabric of choice for most eco conscious designers. So while researching clothing made from hemp I came across The Hempest and was so impressed I may just pick up some of their cozy looking fashions for gifts in the near future!

The Hempest, founded in 1995, provides environmentally sound fashion choices made from organic hemp for both men and women. In addition to their cool clothing they also provide a line of body care, accessories like purses and fedoras and even hiking shoes (not to mention books, hacky sacks, lip balm journals and other fun stuff)! For the more adventurous types they even sell their own spun yarn so you can make your very own hemp statements.

The one drawback of the clothing is that it is pretty pricey for the average consumer considering many of the pieces are hemp/cotton or hemp/bamboo blends. The sweater in the photo above is 45% cotton (not noted if it is organic) and listed at $98.00, the fedora at $45.00. Although it is important to point out the tensile strength of hemp fabric so these items are definitely going to last when they are cared for correctly, making it an overall great investment.

I like the colors and styles available as they resemble more mainstream fashions but make use of an unconventional material such as hemp. Additionally, other than the one brick & mortar location in Vermont, all three of their other locations are right here in Massachusetts! Because of their commitment to using rapidly renewable resources such as hemp, cotton and bamboo I am granting a Four Leaf Rating to The Hempest!

Nice job bringing this environmentally responsible fabric choice into the mainstream consciousness Hempest. You might just see me in your Harvard Square location one of these days!

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Organic Tailgate Goodies from Atlanta Falcons Fullback Ovie Mughelli

Good morning readers! Tis the season to start thinking about what we will create to wow and impress the taste buds of our friends and family, those dishes that will have them asking ‘can I get that recipe?’ and us responding with a sly smile and a wink of the eye as we protect our secret concoctions! Well maybe not all of us are so protective. One Greenie is fully willing to share his organic recipe, Ovie Mughelli.

We have talked before about Ovie and his amazing contributions to the youth of America through his Ovie Mughelli Foundation, as well as his strong eye on the planet. This is something that is rare in the world of football players, rare in the sense that it is infrequently discussed among the pigskin and gridiron talk but it is nice to see at least one player speaking out to share his love of the planet!

In an effort to reach a wide audience on all things Green, Ovie has decided to share his own recipe for Organic Chili with Charleston Spice. Not only will this be a yummy indoor winter meal, but all of you tailgaters can truly warm up by partaking in a bowl of this delicious chili! Here’s the recipe:

One 16 oz can each - black beans, pinto beans, kidney beans (organic)
1 lb pkg fresh organic whole kernel corn
3 plum tomatos, diced
1-2 lbs free range organic boneless, skinless chicken (or substitute as desired)
Two 16 oz cans organic diced stewed tomatos
2 T olive oil

Charleston Spice:
4 T chili powder
2 t cumin
½ t turmeric
1-1/2 t cocoa powder (unsweetened)
1 T sea salt
1 T minced garlic
1 t granulated garlic powder
½ t coarse ground black pepper

Dice chicken into ½ inch cubes and lightly season with salt and pepper.
Sautee in olive oil and minced garlic until brown, remove from pan.
In a stock pot bring beans, tomato and corn to a slow simmer.
Add Charleston Spice, simmer 5-10 minutes.
Add cooked chicken.
Let sit on low heat about ten minutes.
Remove and enjoy with organic cheese or sour cream.
Serves 8.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Innovations for Our Feline Friends from Yesterday’s News

In the past here at GLR we have discussed ways we can provide more environmentally friendly experiences for our pets. There are dog collars made from recycled materials, hand made organic catnip pouches and even toys created from found materials but what about that most important thing of all -- cat litter**.

Since training a cat to use and flush a toilet is fantasy better left to the movies, most indoor cat owners will still be using a littler box of some variety. There are self cleaning boxes that offer the ultimate in hands off convenience to a cat owner. The cat does their business, the box senses when a cat has vacated the box, an electronic arm scoops up the clump and deposits it into a container which has a cover and can be removed to throw away without ever coming near the litter. Sounds great and all but they do utilize electricity and the throw away containers are made from none other than PET based plastic.

Another option for the majority of cat lovers is the standard litter box. Literally this is a big plastic tub that the litter is placed into where the cat can do its thing. Later the owner comes back with a little shovel to scoop out the clumps and toss them away. The majority of litter on the market today is made from clay, this is why it clumps when exposed to liquid and allowed to dry. (Other styles include wood, paper or even sometimes straw)

Clay is definitely a natural based material but new clay must be sourced for each box of litter. Well Purina thought this seemed wasteful and they have created a litter called Yesterday’s News. The litter is created from 100% recycled newspapers and the Softer Texture version (recommended for cats) is purported to feel more like the standard clay type!

Some of the cool features of this litter include -- 99.7% dust free, up to 3 times more absorbent than clay, non-toxic, low tracking and Veterinarian recommended. Not to mention the obvious benefit of using a recycled paper product instead of a newly created material.

It is said to absorb liquid from the bottom and the pellets will expand once all of the liquid has been retained. It is recommended to wait a few minutes for the paper to fully expand before scooping. The product is said to be tough on odor as well as it should absorb most if not all associated smelliness.

I don’t have a cat so I haven’t been able to try this yet but if any of you awesome readers do have a cat and check it out, please report back and let us know your first hand experience on its functional and financial viability as compared to the standard clay types on the market. Before you shop, be sure to go online and claim the $1.50 coupon.

** Yesterday’s News also comes in brands specifically designed for rabbits, ferrets and small bedding animals (gerbils, hamsters, mice, etc)

Monday, December 7, 2009

Helix Wind Creates Sculptural Wind Catching Turbines

One of the most important ways we can fight against rising costs for fossil fuels and conserve these resources is to source alternative energy solutions such as solar, hydro, or even wind. Most people are familiar with the look of a typical wind turbine -- very impressive up close (mostly due to sheer size of the blades) but from a distance they look just like any other windmill. But that was all before the inventors of San Diego based Helix Wind hit the scene!

With turbines for all manners of smaller scale installation, from residential to commercial, agricultural to industrial and everything in between, these folks really know their wind! Their vertical axis turbine system is proven to capture from 300W to 50kW of energy, and because they are mounted up to 35 feet high and make use of Savonius turbines (vertical) that take up a diameter of only 4 feet, they will generate electricity in winds as low as 10 miles per hour.

They offer so much information on their website as to the viability of a system like this for the everyday consumer that I could never begin to share it all! Suffice to say though this is a more viable option than most. Because there are no blades to spin, only scoops to turn, the profile of necessary space required is much smaller than an everyday style turbine. These are personal systems and generally speaking, one turbine would be sufficient for a home’s supplemental power. Plus with up to a 30% tax credit it is a smart investment for homeowners.

Pricing is not listed on the company website but one of the most innovative things I could find about the company is their desire to utilize already existing structures to provide the energy. For example, cell phone towers are littered all over the highways and on top of buildings. A Helix Wind turbine could easily be retro fit on top and help offset the energy required to run the tower itself. Cool! The first two will be tested in southern California in 2010.

So if you’re thinking about installing alternative energy but are limited on space, Helix Wind could be just the innovation you are looking for!

Friday, December 4, 2009

‘Tis the Season for Sharing and Caring

Welcome back to Eco Fashion Friday loyal readers! This week I have a nice idea for all of you regarding some of our old fashions becoming a new piece for those in need.

Twice a year I sort through my wardrobe to swap over clothing for the seasons so a couple days ago I finally admitted that my flip flops and tank tops should probably be packed away and replaced by sweaters and winter accessories. Here in New England it is vital to have clothing that accommodates for every conceivable type of weather -- temperatures from below zero to over 100 degrees, snow, rain, sun, clouds, wind and any combination of those above.

With those sub zero temperatures on their way, the most important piece is a winter coat. I just recently purchased a new one as my old jacket had never been functional for me. The arms fit but my shoulders are quite a small frame so the jacket would slide backwards and it was uncomfortable. But because I am a gal who firmly believes that saving money is a virtue, I have worn this jacket for the past ten years anyway.

It is still in perfect shape, seeing as though there are not too many days below 20, so I had considered donating it to the Goodwill, until last night. While watching television I saw a commercial for the Burlington Coat Factory Coat Drive and knew just what to do with this jacket!

Together with One Warm Coat, this is the third year that the national chain will be receiving gently worn coats to help cover those who are greatly in need. Last year they received just over 177,000 coats and they hope to top that number this year. With donation stations at every customer service desk it is easy to donate.

Best of all, they will give a 10% off coupon to anyone donating so if you’re in the market for a new coat yourself and already planning to purchase one why not consider doing so at Burlington Coat Factory this season?

Those in need will be truly grateful for the donation and you save a little money in the process. Now that is what the holiday spirit is all about!

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Yes, but why?

Hey there, fans of the environment and Jenn. Melissa here. I know, I know, here I am butting in just as Jenn gets back from her literary adventures, but I've been backburnering this review for weeks just because it's been a crazy month, and she's been asking, so here it is.

A couple of months ago, Jenn asked me to check out Guiding Light for your Mailbox, a product so tough to explain that the manufacturer, Sharpe Products, Inc., doesn't seem to be able to give it a blurb of less than 10 words. Their attempt: "The ultimate in night time home identification -- when seconds matter."

Actually, it's a mailbox "saddle" -- designed to sit on top of mailboxes -- with backlit house numbers, so emergency responders will immediately be able to ID your home from the mailbox, should the need arise.

"But what's the green angle?" you say? Well, the backlighting for the house numbers is solar powered. Four hours of sunlight charge three C-size rechargeable batteries to provide the illumination.

Does it work? I'm pretty sure you could see my house numbers from space, so yes, in that sense, it does work. There are some limitations. It only works for standard size, upside-down U shaped boxes that do not already have some sort of decorative housing on them (my box has a housing, so I was unable to fully screw the saddle down as intended -- fortunately we didn't have any gale force winds while I was testing it!).

Second, I live in a neighborhood where the post office has decreed that all mailboxes be on one side of the street, which means mine is paired with my across-the-street neighbor's. My box is on the "inside" as you drive down our street -- so emergency responders would have a great view of my box if they were stopped directly in front of it, but would have a hard time seeing it through my neighbor's box. I'm sure the company could find a workaround (like numbers for the front of the box), but....

One bigger question remains. Why? Why does this product need to exist? Adhesive reflective numbers that go on mailboxes or houses themselves have been around for ages, and they're plenty easy to see. And sure, it's solar powered, but why does the world need big plastic mailbox saddles, and all the chemicals inherent in their manufacturing process, not to mention the petroleum and carbon emissions from shipping them? And what happens to those saddles and batteries when they wear out?

Maybe there's something special about how Sharpe makes these that the company didn't bother to share in the packaging (ack, another environmental cost!), but even if there is, is it so necessary that it's worth all those considerations? I just can't see how. Just in case I'm missing something, I'll give Guiding Light for your Mailbox two leaves.

Subtract a half leaf, at least, if these are produced and shipped in your standard not-particularly-environmentally-friendly methods. My final thought for today (at least for GLR): Life cycle, life cycle, life cycle!

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Getting Back in the Groove by Giving

Good morning everyone! What a refreshing day it is, December first snuck up so quickly it surprised even me but I managed to complete the novel with a count total of 58,134 words. Yippie! What a fun time too! Now it is on to NaNoEdMo -- National Novel EDITING Month -- for me as I intend to complete my three or so rounds of edits during December and January and have this project of mine ready for publishing by February 2010.

But editing without a deadline means I can come back and keep up with all things Green again, hooray! I missed the research, reading and innovation available in this sector.

To get the ball rolling again I have started clicking to give.

A couple weeks ago my Mom sent me a link to the Animal Rescue Site. At the top of the page there is a big purple button that reads “Click here to give - it’s FREE”. I had forgotten about this website as it was something I used to do as part of my daily routine -- read email, click to donate.

There are six causes in total that are associated with the click to give movement:

Animal Rescue
Breast Cancer
Child Health

The sponsors of the website place advertising and donate based on the free clicks. Each page shares stories of how the sponsors were able to share through just a click of a button. The stories are also fascinating to read through, it is nice to hear how the simple click of a button can provide so much for so many. Our world is truly a fascinating place!

I strongly encourage everyone to click today (and everyday!) to help provide resources toward these very important causes. It only takes a second to click.